Lachrimæ

Dowland

Zachary Wilder – ténor
Eduardo Egüez – lute
Ensemble La Chimera

Personne ne reste insensible aux "Lachrimae" de Dowland.
Hypnotiques, tranchantes, impitoyables, rédemptrices : avec un plaisir de classification presque taxonomique, Dowland nous conduit dans la galerie des différentes natures des pleurs où, au lieu des peintures, nous trouvons des miroirs, des portraits exacts de notre propre sentiment individuel et unique.

De nombreuses théories ont été avancées sur ce recueil énigmatique, une des plus intéressantes suggérant qu'il s'agisse d'une crypto-liturgie du Jeudi Saint catholique pour gagner les faveurs de la Reine Anne; ou que ce soit un reflet des théories de la mélancolie très en vogue à l’époque...

Quel que soit le motif de cette collection, chaque auditeur y trouvera la possibilité d'un voyage introspectif dense, guidé - mais subtilement, sans contrainte - par des titres extrêmement évocateurs, auxquels donner un sens autobiographique : larmes anciennes, larmes forcées, larmes d'amant...

Dans l'oscillation constante entre le profane et le sacré, entre nihilisme et rédemption, apparaissent parfois des images de lumière éblouissantes, comme des paysages à peine révélés par un éclair au milieu d'un orage: des moments de joie sublime, d'euphorie presque, où les larmes - comme annoncé dans la préface - vont surgir du bonheur.

Pour notre lecture, nous nous sommes inspirés de l'épigramme figurant sur la couverture de l'ouvrage: “Aut Furit, aut Lachrimat, quem non Fortuna beavit” (“ Soit il rage, soit il pleure, qui n'est pas béni par le Destin”). Nous avons donc conçu un récit rétrospectif ponctué de danses et de chants: c’est le récit d'un homme à son propre chevet et des comptes qu'il fait avec son Destin.

Margherita Pupulin - violiniste

Galerie

Programme

  • Sir Henry Upton’s Funerall
  • Now, o Now I needs must part
  • King of Denmark’s galliard
  • Lachrimae Antiquae
  • O Sweet Woods
  • Mr Bucton’s Galliard
  • Lachrimae Antiquae Novae
  • Dear, if you change
  • Lachrimae Gementes
  • Mr. Henry Noel his Galliard
  • If my complaints
  • Lachrimae Tristes
  • Mr. Giles Hobies Galliard
  • Lachrimae Coactae
  • His Golden Locks
  • M. George Whitehead his Almand
  • Lachrimae Amantis
  • Go Crystal Tears
  • Sir John Souch, his Galliard
  • Lachrimae Verde
  • Flow my tears
  • Semper Dowland semper dolens

actus sur ce programme

Plus d'informations sur ce programme ?

n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un e-mail, un SMS ou à nous appeler :

fr_FRFrançais

Lachrimæ

Dowland

Zachary Wilder – tenor
Eduardo Egüez – lute
Ensemble La Chimera

“No one is indifferent to Dowland’s Lachrimae.
Hypnotic, sharp, pitiless, redeeming: with the pleasure of an almost taxonomic cataloguing Dowland leads us into the gallery of the different natures of weeping, where instead of paintings we find mirrors, exact portraits of our own individual and unique feeling.

Many theories have been ventured on this enigmatic collection, one of the most interesting being that it is a crypto-liturgy of Catholic Maundy Thursday to win the favor of Queen Anne; or that it is a reflection of the theories of melancholy very much in vogue at the time.

Whatever the motive behind this collection, every listener will find in it the possibility of a dense introspective journey, guided – but subtly, without impositions – by extremely evocative titles, to which one can give an autobiographical meaning: ancient tears, forced tears, lover’s tears…

Within the constant oscillation between the profane and the sacred, between nihilism and redemption, sometimes dazzling landscapes of light appear, like landscapes barely revealed by a flash in the middle of a thunderstorm, Hindemith would say: moments of sublime joy, of euphoria almost, where tears – as foretold in the preface – will rise from happiness.

For our reading we were inspired by the epigram on the cover page “Aut Furit, aut Lachrimat, quem non Fortuna beavit” (“O si infuria o pianto, chi non è benedetto dalla Sorte”):  we have conceived a retrospective story punctuated by dances and songs, the story of a man at his deathbed and the accounts he makes with his own Destiny”.

Margherita Pupulin - violinist

gallery

PROGRAM

  • Sir Henry Upton’s Funerall
  • Now, o Now I needs must part
  • King of Denmark’s galliard
  • Lachrimae Antiquae
  • O Sweet Woods
  • Mr Bucton’s Galliard
  • Lachrimae Antiquae Novae
  • Dear, if you change
  • Lachrimae Gementes
  • Mr. Henry Noel his Galliard
  • If my complaints
  • Lachrimae Tristes
  • Mr. Giles Hobies Galliard
  • Lachrimae Coactae
  • His Golden Locks
  • M. George Whitehead his Almand
  • Lachrimae Amantis
  • Go Crystal Tears
  • Sir John Souch, his Galliard
  • Lachrimae Verde
  • Flow my tears
  • Semper Dowland semper dolens

related news

Any further information about this program?

feel free to e-mail, text or call us:

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)